Organization information

Name : Discover India Club (DIC)
Address : Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Objective :

To get acquainted with Indian culture, and study information related to India and provide it to those who need such information. Create opportunities for a better understanding of India and its culture by organizing exchange meetings, lectures, and cultural events. Also undertake public activities through the website of DIC to provide information about India to general public. Support youth exchange, cultural exchange and business exchange, deepen mutual understanding, and contribute to the development of human interaction between the two countries.

Operating structure : The organization will have a limited number of office bearers. The members of executive committee are as shown below.
establishment date : 7/13/2013
President : Mr. Rabinder Malik

Born in 1934 in India, graduated from Punjab University in year 1956. Has worked for World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Development Program (UNDP). Has lived in Japan for 37 years, and was formerly the Executive Officer at United Nations University (UNU) in Tokyo. Also a former Chairman of Urayasu Foreign Residents Association and is currently teaching at Keio University.

Vice-presidents :
  • Kaneko Nobuyasu (Acting president; Vice president of executive committee for "Diwali in Yokohama", Director Yokohama Mumbai Friendship Association, Visiting faculty at Yokohama City University,)
  • Kanokogi Kenkichi (Part time Director India Japan Association, Past member of Board of Directors)
  • Mr Markus (CEO of Asahi Travel Services, Studied under late Tatekawadanshi.
Executive committee : Eleven other members of the DIC Executive committee are from various industries and organizations, Indian business, and specialists in Indian cuisine, etc.
Website :
E-Mail for queries :

Executive Committee member

for the period of April 1st 2022 to March 31st 2023

  • Mr. Rabinder Malik
  • Mr. Kaneko Nobuyasu
    Senior Vice President
  • Mr. Tsutomu Sato
  • Mr. Kenkichi Kanokogi
    Vice President
  • Mr. Markus
    Vice President
  • Ms. Sumiyo Ohi
    Secretary General
  • Mr. Satoshi Kubo
    Deputy Secretary General
  • Ms. Yoko Yamada
    Accounting in charge
  • Ms. Kyoko Kobayashi
    Membership in charge
  • Mr. Masaya Kaneko
    Media and publicity in charge
  • Mr. Tetsuya Asano
    Video creation in charge
  • Ms. Nao Tsutsumi
    Operations in charge
  • Mr. Mangesh Phatak
  • Ms. Fusayo Sato
  • Mr. Hiromitsu Sato
  • Ms. Mitsuko Toki
  • Ms. Tomoki Tazawa
  • Ms. Tomo Kawane
  • Mr. Kenin Ito
  • Ms. Akiko Noguchi
  • Ms. Kaori Kurihara